The Mabinogion

Translated by

Lady Charlotte E. Guest

209 Blz., ISBN 0-486-29541-9     
Dover Publications, 1997     

Composed in a golden age of Celtic storytelling in the thirteenth century or earlier, this collection of 12 Welsh prose tales is a masterpiece of European literature. Through written down in the Middle Ages, these stories are thought by scholars to be probably much older, perhaps going back to the dawn of Celtic civilization.

They fall naturally into several groups: the Mabinogi (stories) proper, composed of the four tales of Pwyll, Branwen, Manawyddan and Math; the tow short pieces The Dream of Maxen Wledig and Lludd and Llevelys; the incomparable Killwch and Olwen, one of the earliest Arthurian tales in Welsh; The Dream of Rhonabwy, a romantic look back to the heroic age of Britain; and the three Arthurian romances proper: The Lady of the Fountain, Peredur the Son of Evrawc and Geraint the Son of Erbin, with their abundant evidence of Norman-French influences. Also included is Lady Guest´s translation of Taliesin, the story of that famous bard. Destiny, magic, chance, knightly feats of arms, love and betrayal - all are here in these ancient, beautifully crafted stories, sure to delight scholars, students, general readers and any lover of myth and legend.

Unabridged Dover (1997) republication of a standard edition, Publisher´s Note. Original Introduction.

(Bovenstaande tekst komt van de achterkant van het boek)     

Terug naar de vorige pagina